First World Problems

As I got ready for my day this morning, I remembered that I had broken a string on my main guitar, and that I would have to play my backup guitar for rehearsals this evening. Before I left, I was brushing my teeth and looked in the mirror and contemplated how much I hate my hair, but that I didn’t want to deal with the mess of getting a hair cut. I then pondered what it would be like if we never had to get hair cuts. When I left the house, I got in my car, opened the sun roof in my car, and realized that I didn’t have any sun glasses and the sun was out, which made me squint, and reconsider the sun roof being open, but I left it open anyway. As I was driving down the road, I realized I had to cash my checks cause I still hadn’t received my new debt card in the mail. All of this irked me. 

 

Isn’t it interesting how we let such insignificant things get to us? We get angry at the server for bringing out the wrong drink, or snap about the little things. Some might call us spoiled brats. The fairly new term for these meaninglessly tiny things we seem so concerned about is called “First World Problems”. 

If we stopped to consider this term, we might realize how foolish we are acting about things that in any other part of the world would not only not matter to people, but they would consider it a blessing to even have to deal with such issues. Hence the term…

Take this morning for instance…
I was so concerned with the sun in my eyes, that I almost completely missed that the weather was nicer than it had been in weeks! I was able to open my sun roof! It makes you wonder how many precious moments we miss throughout the day as we concern ourselves with so many things that don’t matter at all. 

I’m struck today with the realization that I am living a life I am quite thankful for. I have a guitar (luckily more than one!), I have a car to get me places, I have food to eat, a bed to sleep in, and people who care if I’m alive or not. I’d consider myself abundantly blessed! 

What First World Problems did you have to deal with today? 

2 thoughts on “First World Problems

Leave a Reply

