The Greater Story

So much of my life has changed almost over night it seems. With cutting out one of my jobs, to the sudden change of my address, my life has felt a bit like a whirlwind of events that has caused a sense of chaos to fill my mind all hours of the day and night. I replace one set of stressful situations for another, and I am even more unsure of my trajectory than ever before. Yet, this is the very thing I’ve been longing to experience…

 

When I was a kid, I would watch cartoons about super-heroes, and give about anything in my very small world to see the new Batman movie that was coming out. I absolutely adored the idea of a hero. 

I’m what many would call a “snob” when it comes to books, movies, and TV shows. I am nearly addicted to the feeling of being enveloped in a good story. I’m completely and utterly fascinated by the fact that someone can write a plot, filling in all the space with twists and turns that get us from point A to point B seamlessly in a beautifully artistic fashion, while managing to throw in some unique aspect to the story that makes it their own. I love when a story is bookended with a great start, and a great finish, while maintaining the ability to keep me engaged through the whole journey, making me feel as though I have now lived that life, taking that journey myself, having the memories of the sights, smells, and tastes to prove just how real it was. There’s nothing better than a good story. 

 

Have you ever thought of your life as a story? Have you ever wondered who’s writing your story, and what kind of a story it is? Maybe your story is a comedy, or a tragedy, an epic adventure, an action, or maybe it’s all of the above. I’ve always thought the best stories are the ones that manage to encompass an epic adventure, full of action, with witty and yet relatable comedic moments, with a season of tragedy, all with a greater purpose in mind, of bringing our star character through a spiritual, mental, and physical journey, able to conquer his fear, and his circumstances, in order to accomplish what everyone thought was impossible. Its even better when the story is true. 

Why can’t this be our story? Why can’t we live a life full of adventure, action, seasons of pain with moments of joy that carry us through, where we come out of the other side a stronger individual, slowly becoming the hero? Isn’t this a basic cycle of our lives? It should be anyway. When we go to that job that we know is a dead end, or stay in a relationship where we know we are settling, or accepting our circumstances as “just the hand we’re dealt,” we are accepting that our story isn’t one worth hearing, reading, or watching. We are accepting that the Author of our story is actually a bland, boring, unoriginal writer with a lack of creativity. If I accept my current circumstances as the whole story, rather than merely  a chapter of a greater story, It’s like I’m declaring that my story is no more than a “fad novel,” full of fictional dreams, poor writing, a lack of intellectual content, an enthusiastically unoriginal plot, and a cast of characters with no charisma, charm, class, or life. I’m saying that I’m dead inside and there’s no hope. That’s not the book I want to read. That’s not the movie I want to pay to see. That’s not the life I want to live. 

I believe that those of us who have things we are passionate about, we are the ones that will be ridiculed the most. We will be judged, discouraged, condemned, and mocked for the way we choose to “pursue our dreams,” with everyone around us declaring that we are foolish to believe in such pipe dreams. Such whimsical notions are a waste of our energy, they might say. To that, I would respond that I would rather be a fool chasing a dream, than an intellect embracing the reality of impending death. 

“Most people spend their lives trying not to be the greater fool. We pass him a hot potato, we dive for his seat when the music stops. The greater fool is someone with the perfect blend of self-delusion and ego to think that he can succeed where others have failed. This whole country was made by greater fools.””   – Olivia Munn as Sloan Sabbith in the HBO TV Series ” The Newsroom”

Great stories are made by fools chasing a dream, embracing the impossible, shouting our foolish rants of passion, and overcoming the most ridiculous of obstacles, giving the rest of humanity hope that we can begin to believe in the future again. 

I want to embrace a greater story. I want to understand the Author of my story. I choose to believe my circumstances are merely a chapter in my ongoing story. I believe my story was written before I was born, for it was the Author writing my story that caused my existence. My story was completed before I could begin the journey from point A to point B. My story is only a small part of an even greater ongoing story. A story that is not bound by a beginning and an end, but rather is written on the pages of eternity, with the ink of life, by the hands of love. 

You see, I loved the stories of super-heroes because the basic plot was everything I aspired for my life to become. I wanted to be the one that sacrificed it all for the greater good of those around me, the one who is faithful to the one he loves, even with his life. The one who stands against all the odds to declare that the impossible is made possible, that we are given a second chance at a better life. I wanted to be…better. This desire is just as alive in my heart today as it was in my childhood, even the unrealistic desire to possess super-powers, but I digress. 

My life has changed a lot, and it will continue to change even more rapidly as time goes on. I recall just a year ago, wishing that my circumstances were different. I had just ended an almost 4 year relationship, lost any semblance of normalcy I thought I had, along with the friends I thought I knew, and I wanted nothing more than to rediscover who I was, and live a life that was worth living. I longed for the day that I would gain the strength and the faith to chase my dreams, risk it all, and fight for something worth believing in. I wanted to be a part of something so much bigger than myself, and have people in my life that I loved, who actually cared about me and wanted to be there for me. Now, I live in a house full of guys I truly care about, involved in the most amazing community I’ve ever been a part of, fighting for things that matter, making a difference in people’s lives, and making my passions and dreams a reality in my life. I honestly never thought I would be where I am now, especially only a year later. I wonder what can be accomplished in another year’s time? 

For the first time in my life, I’m excited about the potential my story possesses to be a great story. I’m on the edge of my seat, waiting to see where the Author will take me next. Despite what others may think, I’m excited about this story. Why not embrace a greater story? Why not shed the clothing of mediocrity, and dress ourselves with the cloak of purpose and passion. 

Life is for living. Let’s leave death to the dying and embrace the possibility of tomorrow. 

One thought on “The Greater Story

Leave a Reply

